My Relationship with Drib

Over the last several months Ive become fascinated with the graffiti artist who tags her/his creations with Drib.  My first instagram post of Drib was in February when the art first reached out to me on a drive to work .. “Be Someone Who Makes You Happy” – such a simple yet profound message.

It breeds introspection, reflection, and just plain asking yourself –

What is my definition of ‘Happy’, ‘You’, ‘Someone’, ‘Be’, and ‘Makes’?

Ever since that first sighting i was hooked.

I look for Drib on every drive to work, probably more then i should because as i drive i’m peering down alleyways, sides of walls, or buildings.

When i finally spotted Drib again it was a month later in March, in a place that i just happened to see as i was driving on a different route then the one that i stalk Drib on daily, Drib was on a retaining wall on the other side of the highway i was on!

By the time i was able to get to that place a few days later, someone had removed Drib – the city is doing construction work so i knew that as soon as i saw Drib, Drib would be gone just as quick because there is no way graffiti would be allowed to stay on that nice new shiny wall.

Today though i was able to see Drib again – This time twice!

so this is my ode to Drib and other graffiti artists who move to break out of the fence of confined, defined art.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I don’t even know who or what Drib is.

What I do know is Drib speaks to me.

Drip expresses a part of me that i strive to express in my everyday life, in my daily actions and interactions. so that others can express it to.

Drib expresses in freely taboo channel.

I express in a conventional norm manner.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 3.57.43 PM

IMG_1150

IMG_1147

~bci

Leave a Reply

