What Cancer Means to Me …

Cancer itself is a hard unwelcome word and ‘thing’ to comprehend or accept.

Cancer is harsh, painful, and depressing.

Cancer means rejection, guilt and remorse for things left undone in one’s life.

Cancer stripped away the opportunity for me to fulfill some of my dreams, but it showed me the light of hope and gave me strength and perseverance.

It allowed me to see how much unyielding love and support there is among us all, where new friendships were forged and old friendships were reinforced.

Cancer gave me the appreciation of just Life itself.

Cancer gave me a voice that I now use to let others know that they are not alone in their fight.

Cancer gave me the opportunity to work with community organizations that strive to continue the forward movement of Life without cancer.

So what does cancer mean to me?

It means –

Loss

Challenge

Acceptance

Hope

Growth

Strength

Community

Opportunity

 

bci is a 10 year Breast Cancer Thriver and a 2 year Ovarian Cancer Survivor and is only 38 years old…

Leave a Reply

